MOT Classes Explained
  • 1136
  • 0

MOT Classes Explained

Has your vehicle just turned 3 years old and is in need of its first MOT? Or perhaps you’ve purchased a second-hand car that’s due its first MOT with you as the owner. Either way, you might be asking yourself; “what MOT class is my vehicle?” 

While most standard 3 or 5 door vehicles usually require a Class 4 MOT, there are actually many different MOT classes and it’s important you understand which your vehicle falls under.

In the table below, we’ve highlighted the different types of MOT classes and what types of vehicles they cover.

What is an MOT?

The MOT test is an annual inspection which ensures your vehicle meets the minimum environmental and road safety standards as required by law.

In the UK, every car and motorbike over three years of age is legally required to pass an MOT test each year in order to lawfully drive on public roads, although there are some exceptions to this.

What Are the Different Types of MOT Classes?

Class Vehicle Type Age at Which First Test is Required


Class 1 Motorcycles (with or without sidecars) with an engine size of up to 200cc 3
Class 2 Motorcycles (with or without sidecars) with an engine size over 200cc 3
Class 3 3-wheeled vehicles (up to 450kg unladen weight) 3
Class 4 ·       3-wheeled vehicles (over 450kg unladen weight) 3
·       Cars (up to 8 passenger seats) 3
·       Quads (maximum laden weight of 400kg) 3
·       Motor Caravans 3
·       Dual purpose vehicles 3
·       Private hire and public service vehicles (up to 8 seats) 3
·       Ambulances and taxis 1
·       Private passenger vehicles and ambulances (with 9-12 passenger seats) 1
·       Goods vehicles (not exceeding 3,000kg design gross weight 3
Class 4a Class 4 vehicles (with 9-12 passenger seats) with a seat belt installation check 1
Class 5 ·       Private passenger vehicles and ambulances (with 13 or more passenger seats) 1
·       Play buses 1
Class 5a Class 5 vehicles (with more than 13 passenger seats) with a seatbelt installation check 1
Class 7 Goods vehicles (weighing over 3,000kg up to 3,500kg design gross weight) 3

What Checks are Included in an MOT?

An MOT test involves several checks on your car, covering many components from the lights and braking system, to seatbelts, mirrors, wipers and tyres.

Most vehicles (excluding electric vehicles) will also have their emission levels tested as part of the MOT – too high, and your vehicle will fail.

There are several other common reasons why many vehicles fail their MOT – take a look at our dedicated blog post to discover what they are and how to avoid them.

Are Any Vehicles Exempt from the MOT Test?

Tractors, goods vehicles registered before 1st March 2015 that are powered by electricity, and some historic or classic cars are exempt from the MOT test and do not require a valid MOT certificate to legally drive on UK roads.

In addition to this, cars, vans and motorcycles over 40 years old also don’t require an MOT as long as there haven’t been any substantial changes in the previous 30 years.

If your vehicle meets the exemption criteria, you should declare this via a v112 form.

Despite not needing an MOT, it is still your responsibility to ensure your vehicle remains roadworthy and in good condition for the safety of yourself and other drivers and so it’s recommended that you continue to service your vehicle annually.

How Can I Prepare my Vehicle for its MOT?

 You can usually get a feel as to whether or not your vehicle is performing optimally simply by driving it: if you sense something isn’t working correctly, it’s best to get it checked by a professional before your MOT is due.

There are however some simple checks you can do to ensure you avoid some of the most common MOT failures which are detailed in our dedicated MOT checklist.

Book Your Next MOT With Autocare Centre Chepstow

 If your vehicle has an upcoming MOT test, get reliable help at our Autocare Centre in Chepstow.

We offer MOTs for many vehicles, including electric vehicles and 4x4s, and operate throughout Chepstow and surrounding areas, including Magor; Caldicot; Rogiet; Undy; Caerwent; Newport; Coleford and Bristol.

We offer MOTs on the following classes of vehicle:

  • Class 3
  • Class 4
  • Class 5
  • Class 7

To book an MOT, simply call us on 01291 627 137 or submit an MOT request form and a member of our team will be in touch


Your comment will be published within 24 hours.

© Copyright Autocare Centre Chepstow | Cookie Policy | Privacy Policy